ABSECON — There were no losers Tuesday as slow-motion football players took to the gridiron at Main Street and New Jersey Avenue for the 51st annual edition of a New Year’s Day tradition.

Final score: Absecon Blue Devil Tornadoes 21, Pleasantville Mainland Spartans 21.

“It’s always a tie game. We’ve never had a winner,” participant Jerry Savell said.

Latest Video

The game began in Pleasantville in 1962 and has been played every New Year’s Day since. Savell said the youngest player was 2 years old, while the oldest was 80.

“It’s tackle football, but its slow motion, so nobody gets hurt. It’s been a great tradition,” Savell said.

The game’s Most Valuable Player was Kent Daly, of Mays Landing. Ventnor residents who attended Pleasantville High School, Class of 1950, played. Absecon Mayor Peter Elco took part, as did Mayor-elect John Armstrong, who will take office this week.

“The new mayor scored a touchdown,” Savell said.

Contact Richard Degener:


Stay informed! Sign up to receive top headlines delivered to your inbox each morning.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.