Two Atlantic County towns will receive a total of $530,000 in grants from the state Department of Transportation for safety projects.

The state announced Monday that Egg Harbor City will receive a $300,000 Safe Routes to School grant for its Pedestrian and Bicycle School Access Program. Galloway Township will receive $230,000 through the Safe Routes to School program for pedestrian safety improvements on Collins Road.

Officials in Egg harbor City said about 40 percent of its students walk or ride bikes to the community school, and they were working on a plan to make it safer for the children.

These state grants are designed to pay for road repairs and sidewalks, crosswalks and other safe repairs to the roads.

Joel Landau