Atlantic Cape inducts students into Phi Theta Kappa

Atlantic Cape Community College welcomed 209 inductees into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society on April 18 in the Walter Edge Theater at the Mays Landing Campus.

Established by two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa recognizes the academic achievements of two-year college students and encourages academic growth. Candidates must be a full- or part-time student enrolled at Atlantic Cape, have earned 12 general education credits to date, either from Atlantic Cape or another community college, and hold a 3.5 cumulative GPA. Inductees included:

Ian Fenwick, Lauren Jones and Kimberly Kern, all of Absecon.

Absegami teachers honored

Absegami High School media teachers Ed Johnson and Michael Piotrowski were honored May 3 at the annual Atlantic Cape Community College media awards ceremony for their contributions to media education. The entire ceremony was created and run by students of the ACCC media and communications program. Johnson and Piotrowski received the Pioneer Award for their contributions to media education in South Jersey.

Also honored at the event and receiving Pioneer Awards were Oakcrest High School media teachers Charles Lockwood and Jason Thomas.