HAMMONTON - Nominations are open for this year's Artist of the Year award from the Hammonton Art District steering committee.

The award is given to an artist who works or volunteers in Hammonton in an arts-related field and has positively contributed to the town, according to Cortlandt Bellavance, chairman of the steering committee.

Nominees do not have to live in Hammonton.

Latest Video

Nominations must be received no later than Aug. 1 and should be sent by email to cortbellavance@gmail.com. Include the name of the nominee, information on the person's art form and no more than 1,200 characters about the impact of the nominee's work on Hammonton and the arts. Include the nominator's name and contact information.

A recipient will be selected by the members of the committee and will be honored at a ceremony at the Hammonton Arts Center, 219 Bellevue Ave., in October. The awardee will get a star on the Eagle Theatre's Walk of Fame.

Previous recipients include dancer Dawn Baldwin (2007), music educator Anthony Guerere (2008), visual artist Mary Catherine DeMarco (2009), photographer Jack Mazzeo (2010), dancer Paul Morris (2011), and Boardwalk Empire author Nelson Johnson (2012).

The steering committee includes representatives of the Noyes Museum of Art, the Hammonton Arts Center, the Eagle Theatre, Richard Stockton College, Atlantic Cape Community College and MainStreet Hammonton.

Contact Michelle Brunetti Post:



Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.