Press of Atlantic City: Helpfiles

Helpfiles

Online CMS Help Topics

The following index of help topics were created to help editors complete various CMS tasks easily and quickly by making them available on our website. Please check back often as new procedures are developed and added.

Feel free to use the story comment feature on each article to share tips, tricks, problems, or anything else with both the online department as well as other editors completing the same procedures.


Most Popular

What's Happening ...

Thursday 10/14/2010
VMIX VIDEO: Guide to using VMIX content management system for videos
Posted: October 14, 2010

Posted in Helpfiles on Thursday, October 14, 2010 5:41 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Friday 01/15/2010
KEYWORDS: How to add searchable keywords to stories
Posted: January 15, 2010

Posted in Helpfiles on Friday, January 15, 2010 4:45 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Friday 01/08/2010
GOAC: How to update goac.com
Posted: January 08, 2010

Posted in Helpfiles on Friday, January 8, 2010 1:10 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Wednesday 12/30/2009
HTML ASSETS: Suppressing Banner Ads on HTML assets
Posted: December 30, 2009

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING:

Posted in Helpfiles on Wednesday, December 30, 2009 3:15 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Tuesday 12/29/2009
MYCAPTURE: Creating A User Upload Category and Album in MyCapture
Posted: December 29, 2009

1. Log into MyCapture

Posted in Helpfiles on Tuesday, December 29, 2009 11:00 am. Comments (0)

more »
Tuesday 12/08/2009
IMAGE ASSETS: Cropping photos in the CMS
Updated: September 13, 2010 - 2:02 pm

Cropping Photos in the CMS requires a two-part process. The complete process is detailed below.

Posted in Helpfiles on Tuesday, December 8, 2009 3:35 pm. Updated: 2:02 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Monday 11/30/2009
HOMEPAGE: Generic & Breaking Alert Widgets - Usage Instructions
Posted: November 30, 2009

Please review the following procedure when using the Generic or Breaking news alerts on the homepage:

Posted in Helpfiles on Monday, November 30, 2009 1:15 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Wednesday 10/28/2009
ACCESS INFO: Adding new database to Access Info homepage block
Posted: October 28, 2009

The Access Info block has been redesigned to display fields from an Article asset rather than images. This makes it easier to add new entries or to change/update the text displayed on the homepage under the Access Info heading. Instructions on creating new entries for this block are below:

Posted in Helpfiles on Wednesday, October 28, 2009 3:05 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Monday 10/12/2009
ACCESS INFO: How to add a database link to a story
Posted: October 12, 2009

 

Posted in Helpfiles on Monday, October 12, 2009 10:40 am. Comments (0)

more »
Thursday 10/08/2009
VIDEO: How to add an AP video to a story
Posted: October 08, 2009

Posted in Helpfiles on Thursday, October 8, 2009 12:00 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Friday 08/14/2009
VIDEO: Uploading a Press Video to YouTube
Posted: August 14, 2009

Uploading a Press Video to YouTube:

Posted in Helpfiles on Friday, August 14, 2009 12:45 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Thursday 08/13/2009
Switching out weekly ATS Cover images
Posted: August 13, 2009

1. Create new image asset

Posted in Helpfiles on Thursday, August 13, 2009 12:15 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Wednesday 08/12/2009
ACROSSNJ: Asset Creation Instructions
Posted: August 12, 2009

with diagram of article asset

Posted in Helpfiles on Wednesday, August 12, 2009 1:55 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Monday 08/10/2009
VIDEO: Embedding MyCapture/YouTube video in an article using an html asset - REVISED 8-09
Posted: August 10, 2009

The following set of instructions can be used anytime an editor/photographer wants to embed video code obtained from a site like MyCapture or YouTube into the body of an article.

Posted in Helpfiles on Monday, August 10, 2009 4:00 pm. Comments (0)

more »
HTML ASSETS: How to make an HTML assets display in the MIDDLE of story text
Posted: August 10, 2009

PLEASE NOTE: This option should ONLY be used when a story has a minimum of at least 10 paragraphs. If you follow the procedure below on a story with fewer than 10 paragraphs, the HTML asset will NOT show at all.

Posted in Helpfiles on Monday, August 10, 2009 2:00 pm. Comments (0)

more »
HTML ASSETS: How to make an HTML assets display at the BOTTOM of story text
Posted: August 10, 2009

1. Open the html asset containing the video or other embed code.

Posted in Helpfiles on Monday, August 10, 2009 1:05 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Monday 07/13/2009
Checklist for scenarios in which you have followed the documented procedure but still can’t get stories to order correctly
Posted: July 13, 2009

Checklist for scenarios in which you have followed the documented procedure but still can't get stories to order correctly:

Posted in Helpfiles on Monday, July 13, 2009 2:35 pm. Comments (0)

more »
An Explanation on Sort Order Logic Used by the CMS
Posted: July 13, 2009

The CMS uses the following logic to sort stories on the web:

Posted in Helpfiles on Monday, July 13, 2009 2:40 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Procedure for Ordering Stories on Carousel Slides and Section Pages
Posted: July 13, 2009

It is important for all editors to keep the following procedure in mind when attempting to set the order of stories on the front page carousel slides and section pages. Please refer to these points as often as necessary. Please adhere to this procedure until advised otherwise by the Online Team.

Posted in Helpfiles on Monday, July 13, 2009 2:35 pm. Comments (0)

more »
Wednesday 07/08/2009
HOMEPAGE: New procedure for Photo of the Day carousel (linking to a MyCapture Staff Gallery)
Posted: July 08, 2009

The following procedure should be used to create/update the Photo of the Day carousel slide on the homepage.

Posted in Helpfiles on Wednesday, July 8, 2009 6:00 pm. Comments (0)

more »
LINK ASSETS: Adding a link to a story
Posted: July 08, 2009

The procedure below should be followed when adding a RELATED internal or external link to a story:

Posted in Helpfiles on Wednesday, July 8, 2009 4:30 pm. Comments (0)

more »

Upcoming Events

CREATE AN EVENT