Wrestler of the Year

152 pounds: Jack Clark

St. Augustine Prep, Sr. (24-0)

Latest Video

The Press Wrestler of the Year won his first District 32 and Region 8 titles and became the first Cape-Atlantic League wrestler since 2007 to win a state title. Clark, ranked fourth in the country at 152 pounds, will wrestle at North Carolina next season.


Steven Bergamo

Vineland, Jr. (26-4)

Bergamo finished second in District 31 and then reached states for the first time with a second-place finish in Region 8.


Pat D'Arcy

Holy Spirit, Jr. (38-3)

D'Arcy eclipsed the 100-win plateau this season as a junior. He finished fourth in the prestigious Beast of the East tournament, won his third District 32 title, his first Region 8 title and finished second in the state.


Chris D'Alfonso

Absegami, Jr. (30-8)

D'Alfonso finished third in District 32 and was able to wrestle back to third in Region 8 to qualify for states for the first time.


Yanni Patsaros

Absegami, Soph. (30-5)

Patsaros won his first District 32 title, ensuring the Braves a 29th consecutive season with at least one district champ and missed out on states by one match with a fourth-place finish in Region 8.


Bryan Brown

Southern Regional, Sr. (24-9)

Brown won his first District 24 title and reached states with a third-place finish in Region 6.


Matt Wilhelm

Southern Regional, Jr. (29-5)

Wilhelm won his second District 24 title and his first Region 6 title to qualify for states for the first time.


Zach Wilhelm

Southern Regional, Sr. (31-6)

Wilhelm won his third District 24 title and reached states for the second time with his first Region 6 title. Wilhelm, who became the 11th wrestler in school history to win 100 matches earlier this season, finished fifth at states to finish his career as a two-time state place-winner. Wilhelm will wrestle at Stevens Institute of Technology next season.


James Ingersoll

Egg Harbor Township, Sr. (34-5)

Ingersoll finished second in District 32 but bounced back to win his first Region 8 title to qualify for states.


Kellen Whitney

Hammonton, Sr. (42-2)

Whitney won the District 30 and Region 8 titles to reach states for the first time. Whitney had a state-leading 41 wins entering the state tournament.

Gerardo Jorge

Southern Regional, Sr. (31-10)

Jorge finished second in District 24 and third in Region 6 but beat a pair of seeded wrestlers on opening night of the state tournament on his way to finishing eighth.


Cooper Gallagher

Ocean City, Sr. (37-3)

Won his first District 32 and Region 8 titles to reach states for the first time.

C.J. LaFragola

St. Joseph, Jr. (39-4)

LaFragola won his second District 30 title, finished second in Region 8 and then wrestled his way to a seventh-place finish in the state.


Ed Shockley

Millville, Sr. (38-2)

Shockley won his second District 31 title and his first Region 8 title to become a two-time state qualifier. He finished fourth in the state, becoming Millville's first state place-winner since two-time state champ Mark Saul in 1996. Shockley, who will play football at Villanova next season, passed Saul on the school's all-time wins list.


Jesse Bauta

Southern Regional, Sr. (30-9)

A big reason why the Rams won a fourth straight South Jersey Group IV title, Bauta won the District 24 title and reached states for the first time with a second-place finish in Region 6.


Tom Lynd

St. Augustine Prep, Jr. (29-10)

Lynd won his second District 32 title and his first Region 8 title to reach states for the first time. He lost in overtime to eventual state champ Andrew Stevens of Camden in the pre-quarterfinals at states.

Second team


Andrew Solomon, Cedar Creek, Fr.


Eric Pruszinski, Lower Cape May Regional, Jr.


Chris Crane, Southern Regional, Jr.


Andrew Tonneson, Southern Regional, Sr.


Ed Donahue, St. Augustine Prep, Sr.; Brandon Curtis, Middle Township, Sr.


Tom Poklikuha, Pinelands Regional, Jr; Chaz Bramble, Buena Regional, Jr.


Jarred Hodges, St. Augustine Prep, Jr.


Nick Racanelli, Southern Regional, Sr.


Joe Cutugno, Atlantic City, Sr.


Connor Dixon, Millville, Sr.


James Bennett, St. Augustine Prep, Sr.


Cory Damiana, Lower Cape May Regional, Sr.


Obi Kali, Millville, Sr.


Doug Flitcroft, Lower Cape May Regional, Sr.

Honorable Mention


Andrew Gabros

James Giegold

Chris Harvey

Chris Henchy

Roman Rudisill

Will Sanz


Zack Andrews

Jeff DeLuise

Greg Moran

Gregory Schmalz

Richard Schmalz

Buena Regional

Mason Brestle

Nick Caporale

Jake Maxwell

Luis Rivera

Antonio Rodriguez

Tim Suter

Cedar Creek

Matt Jiampetti

Carlos Rivera

Cumberland Regional

Andrew DiJoseph

Maquay Richmond

Egg Harbor Township

Connor Agostino

James Bower

Terrell Coleman

Eric Wollerman


Brandon Beebe

Austin Figueroa

Logan Fiorentino

Robert Frederico

Justin Fucetola

Jeff Picariello

Holy Spirit

Miles Townsend

Lacey Township

Kyle Brandt

Andrew Garrity

Connor Garrity

Matt Garrity

Nick Vecci

Lower Cape May Regional

Noah Gomersall

Mainland Regional

Justin Bishop

Brendon Islinger

Middle Township

Joey Curtis

Kenny Dale

John Mooers


Joham Garcia

Zach Goranson

Keith Mahoney

Sean Platt

Jose Soto


Callisto Kraus

Ocean City

Luke Demore

Jeremy Grund

Vinny Levin

Pinelands Regional

Corey Byrne

Mike Heck

James Mattina

Southern Regional

Peyton Blauvelt

Pat Ferraro

Jimmy Knoeller

St. Augustine Prep

James Brady

Nick Clark

Colin Donahue

Jose Tabora

Dillon Taylor

Reid White


Tiawahn Cosby

Zach Nealis

Josh Pineda

Stay informed! Sign up to receive top headlines delivered to your inbox each morning.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.