Young Drivers On Board
Kyleigh's Law requires drivers ages 16 to 20 to display red decals on their license plates.
- Restrictions on new drivers
_New Jersey uses a graduated system of licensing drivers that includes a learner's permit for drivers at least 16 years old or an examination permit for drivers at least 17 years old. A probationary driver license can be issued to drivers 17 to 21 years old after they have practiced with an adult driver for at least six months (new drivers over 21 need to practice for three months). A basic driver license can be issued to drivers at least 18 years old after one year of unsupervised practice driving.
_The following restrictions are in place during the learner permit, examination permit and probationary driver phases of the graduated license system. Restrictions on hours of operation and number of passengers do not apply to drivers 21 years and older.
_No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. Exemptions may be granted for employment or religious reasons.
_No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices
_Special learner and examination permit holders must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult N.J. licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has a minimum of three years' driving experience
_Passengers are limited to a parent, guardian or dependents and one additional passenger under special learner permits. They're limited to dependents and one other passenger unless accompanied by a parent under examination permits and probationary licenses.
_Must display decals on license plates.
Posted: Tuesday, August 7, 2012 12:30 am
New Jersey News,
Atlantic County News,
Atlantic City News,
Cape May County News,
Cumberland County News,
Ocean County News,
Today's Top Stories
Tuesday, August 7, 2012 12:30 am.