Three local officials were elected last month to positions in the New Jersey State League of Municipalities.

Out of 556 mayors and 13,000 elected or appointed officials statewide, the mayors of Bridgeton, Pleasantville and Stone Harbor were all chosen for positions in the association.

Suzanne M. Walters, of Stone Harbor, was elected first vice president, while Albert B. Kelly, of Bridgeton, and Jesse Tweedle Sr., of Pleasantville, were chosen to serve on the executive board.

“It’s a prestigious position, and there are only 21 of us,” Tweedle said.

The three mayors were sworn in last month at the annual business meeting of the League of Municipalities in Plainsboro, according to a statement released by league.

Contact Anjalee Khemlani:


Follow Anjalee Khemlani on Twitter @AnjKhem