SAN DIEGO — John MacCausland of Cape May, N.J., and Phil Trinter of Lorain, Ohio, won the Qualcomm Star class world sailing championship on Friday.

It is the first championship for MacCausland in 15 tries since 1981.

It is Trinter’s second championship. He won it as crew for Joe Londrigan in 1993.

Andrew Campbell of San Diego won his second straight race in the six-race regatta off San Diego. His crew is John von Schwarz.

Former two-time world champion Mark Reynolds of San Diego and crew Hal Haenel took third. Reynolds has also won two Olympic gold medals and a silver medal.

George Szabo was seventh and Vince Brun ninth. Both are former world champions from San Diego.

Started at The Press in 1993 as an Ocean County reporter. Moved to the copy desk in 1994 until taking over as editor of At The Shore in 1995. Became deputy sports editor in 2004 and was promoted to sports editor in 2007.