GALLOWAY TOWNSHIP - Pat D'Arcy knows his way around the District 32 awards podium as well as anyone.

The Princeton-bound wrestler ventured to the top step of the wooden platform at Absegami High School once again on Saturday, becoming the first four-time district champion in Holy Spirit history.

"It means a lot," D'Arcy said. "You can only win it four times."

Latest Video

The top three finishers in each weight class in the district advance to the Region 8 tournament at Egg Harbor Township High School, which begins on Wednesday.

D'Arcy was named Most Outstanding Wrestler after becoming just the 13th four-time champ in District 32 history. He's the 16th Cape-Atlantic League wrestler to win four district crowns.

St. Augustine Prep crowned nine champions on Saturday and advanced a district-best 12 wrestlers through to regions.

D'Arcy won the 126-pound title convincingly, picking up a 10-1 major decision against defending District 32 champ Andrew Solomon of Cedar Creek.

D'Arcy won by decision against Solomon earlier this season but refused to take him lightly.

"You can't overlook anyone," D'Arcy said. "Every time you step on the mat, that guy is looking to win. He's training his hardest to beat you so you just take them as they come, one match at a time."

Jim Brady and Reid White were two of the Prep's nine district champs.

Brady won the 220-pound title with a 38-second pin against Atlantic City's Omar Hayatt.

Brady won three matches en route to the title on Saturday, all coming by pin in the first period.

"I'm really focused and ready for regions," Brady said. "I'm trying to get a region title this year, and I'm trying to go out to states and place."

Saturday was also Brady's 17th birthday.

Had Saturday's finals been a dual, the Prep would have won easily with its nine champions.

"This is like a big team win actually," Brady said. "We have 12 guys (advancing), 10 in the finals - that's probably one of the most ever."

White needed every last second of the six minutes of regulation in his 120-pound district final with Lower Cape May Regional's Erik Pruszinski.

Pruszinski is a three-time District 32 finalist and a two-time state qualifier. He led 5-4 to start the third period and was doing a nice job using his legs to ride White out.

"He was riding really tough, and I didn't know if I was going to get it," White said. "Then, with three seconds left, he kind of let his hips drop."

White quickly reversed Pruszinski as the buzzer sounded.

The refs conferred before finally awarding White the reversal for a 6-5 decision.

"All the hard work came through," White said.

The Prep's Nick Clark won his second district title with a 9-5 decision against Ocean City's Andrew Morrill at 170 and teammate Tom Lynd became a three-time District 32 champ with a pin in the 285-pound final.

Steven Schwab (106 pounds), Dillon Taylor (145), Jarred Hodges (152), Jose Tabora (182) and Ryan Lynd also won titles for the Hermits.

Absegami sophomore James Giegold was able to continue an impressive streak for the host Braves on Saturday.

Giegold extended Absegami's run of consecutive seasons with a district champion to 30 years with a 3-1 decision against Holy Spirit's Tim Fitzpatrick.

"I didn't know it would feel that great," Giegold said through a smile after the match.

Giegold downplayed the importance of the streak on opening night on Friday but admitted Saturday he was thinking about it.

"I really wanted that for me and my coaches and mostly my dad and my mom," Giegold said. "I don't know. I'm so ecstatic right now."

Oakcrest's Callisto Kraus (132), Mainland Regional's Justin Bishop (138) and Ocean City's Luke Demore (160) all won their first district titles on Saturday.

Mainland coach Clayton Smith was voted District 32 Coach of the Year by his fellow coaches. The Mustangs set a new school record for wins this season.

The Region 8 tournament begins Wednesday with preliminary round matches. The quarterfinals are Friday and semifinals, wrestlebacks and finals on Saturday.

Contact John O’Kane:


@ACPressOKane on Twitter


106 – Steven Schwab, SA p. Terrell Coleman, EHT 3:45.

113 – James Giegold, A d. Tim Fitzpatrick, HS 3-1.

120 – Reid White, SA d. Erik Pruszinski, LCM 6-5

126 – Pat D'Arcy, HS md. Andrew Solomon, CC 10-1.

132 – Callisto Kraus, O d. Colin Donahue, SA 6-3

138 – Justin Bishop, MR d. Kenny Kleshick, EHT 8-2.

145 – Dillon Taylor, SA John DiNofrio, MR 7-3.

152 – Jarred Hodges, SA Vinny Levin, OC 5-2.

160 – Luke Demore, OC d. Caleb Justis, EHT 5-0.

170 – Nick Clark, SA d. Andrew Morrill, OC 9-5.

182 – Jose Tabora, SA d. Jeremy Grund, OC 4-3.

195 – Ryan Lynd, SA d. Kolin Roberts, MR 6-5.

220 – Jim Brady, SA p. Omar Hayatt, AC :38.

285 – Tom Lynd, SA p. Antonio Colon, O 4:25.


106 – Alexander Pruszinski, LCM md. Kevin Thomas, HS 13-3.

113 – Hunter Thomas, EHT p. Antonio Yeoman, MR 2:39.

120 – David Levin, OC d. Alec Harper, HS 4-2.

126 – Mason Bechler, SA d. Cameron Andres, OC 8-4.

132 – Antonio Leone, EHT d. Chris Harvey, A 3-1.

138 – Miles Townsend, O p. Will Nickerson, OC 4:53.

145 – Jason Kaenzig, EHT d. Daniel Ramirez, HS 6-3.

152 – Carlos Rivera, CC by injury default against Matthew Moreno, EHT.

160 – Branden Cirillo, SA p. Elvin Davilla, MT 6:37 (OT).

170 – Sean Lenzsch, MR p. James Bower, EHT 3:18.

182 – Dietrich Trumbauer, EHT d. Khiri Williams, A 3-1.

195 – Connor Agostino, EHT d. Amaury Ortiz, AC 3-2 (OT).

220 – Michael Kennedy, MR p. Jeff Payne, OC :53.

285 – Gavin Calcerano, A d. Owen Bowles, CC 3-2.


106 – Steven Schwab, SA p. Kevin Thomas, HS 3:38; Terrell Coleman, EHT d. Alexander Pruszinski, LCM 8-2.

113 – James Giegold, A d. Antonio Yeoman, MR 6-0; Tim Fitzpatrick, HS d. Hunter Thomas, EHT 9-2.

120 – Erik Pruszinski, LCM p. Alec Harper, HS 3:22; Reid White, SA p. David Levin, OC 4:30.

126 – Pat D'Arcy, HS p. Mason Bechler, SA 1:03; Andrew Solomon, CC tf. Cameron Andres, OC 18-2 (3:39).

132 – Colin Donahue, SA d. Chris Harvey, A 3-1 (2OT); Callisto Kraus, O p. Antonio Leone, EHT 4:59.

138 – Justin Bishop, MR md. Will Nickerson, OC 11-1; Kenny Kleshick, EHT d. Miles Townsend, O 3-0.

145 – Dillon Taylor, SA md. Daniel Ramirez, HS 10-0; John DiNofrio, MR d. Jason Kaenzig, EHT 5-0.

152 – Jarred Hodges, SA p. Matthew Moreno, EHT 3:14; Vinny Levin, OC d. Carlos Rivera, CC 10-3.

160 – Luke Demore, OC md. Elvin Davilla, MT 11-0; Caleb Justis, EHT md. Branden Cirillo, SA 9-1.

170 – Nick Clark, SA d. Sean Lenzsch, MR 6-0; Andrew Morrill, OC p. James Bower, EHT 3:51.

182 – Jose Tabora, SA p. Khiri Williams, A 1:41; Jeremy Grund, OC d. Dietrich Trumbauer, EHT 5-3.

195 – Kolin Roberts, MR p. Connor Agostino, EHT 5:56; Ryan Lynd, SA d. Amaury Ortiz, AC 3-1.

220 – Jim Brady, SA p. Michael Kennedy, MR 1:55; Omar Hayatt, AC d. Jeff Payne, OC 9-8.

285 – Tom Lynd, SA p. Owen Bowles, CC 1:32; Antonio Colon, O p. Gavin Calcerano, A 2:53.


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.