NEW YORK — Oakcrest High School graduate Cathy Rush was one of four members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame that were honored with the Lapchick Character Award.

C.M. Newton, Morgan Wootten and the late Pete Newell also received the award.

The ceremony was held Thursday and the four were honored with the award that recognizes those who have shown the character traits of Lapchick, a Hall of Famer who coached at St. John's and with the New York Knicks.

Rush, who grew up in the West Atlantic City section of Egg Harbor Township, led tiny Immaculata College to the first three national championships conducted by the AIAW.

Newton has impacted basketball on the collegiate and international levels as a coach and administrator.

Wootten was the head coach at DeMatha High School in Hyattsville, Md. for 46 years, compiling a 1,274-192 record while winning five national championships.

Newell led California to the national championship in 1959. He compiled a 119-44 record in a 14-year career.