MILLVILLE - Ricardo Zonta and Nic Jonsson fought through pouring rain to win the Grand-Am Rolex series Verizon Wireless 250 on Sunday at New Jersey Motorsports Park.
The Rolex series doesn't postpone races for rain unless it's extremely heavy. The rain was steady Sunday, though there was a 30-minute caution midway through the race when it became too heavy.

Latest Video

Last year's winner, Mark Patterson was involved in a rain-related wreck on the first turn of the first lap and finished second-to-last in the faster Daytona Prototype class.
Leh Keen and Dirk Werner finished first in the Grand Touring class, eighth overall.
Actor Patrick Dempsey and Joe Foster were seventh in GT, 15th overall.
Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car-Verizon Wireless 250 Results
At New Jersey Motorsports Park
Millerville, N.J.
(Car number in parentheses)
1. (76) DP; Nic Jonsson, Ricardo Zonta, Krohn Racing; Ford Lola; 87.
2. (10) DP; Max Angelelli, Brian Frisselle, SunTrust Racing; Ford Dallara; 87.
3. (12) DP; Romain Dumas, Timo Bernhard, Penske Racing; Porsche Riley; 87.
4. (58) DP; Darren Law, David Donohue, Brumos Porsche; Porsche Riley; 87.
5. (61) DP; Burt Frisselle, Mark Wilkins, AIM Autosport; Ford Riley; 87.
6. (99) DP; Jon Fogarty, Alex Gurney, GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing; Pontiac Riley; 87.
7. (77) DP; Memo Gidley, Brad Jaeger, Doran Racing; Ford Dallara; 86.
8. (87) GT; Dirk Werner, Leh Keen, Farnbacher Loles Racing; Porsche GT3; 86.
9. (66) GT; Ted Ballou, Spencer Pumpelly, TRG; Porsche GT3; 85.
10. (86) GT; Eric Lux, Bryan Sellers, Farnbacher Loles Racing; Porsche GT3; 85.
11. (6) DP; John Pew, Michael Valiante, Michael Shank Racing; Ford Riley.
12. (67) GT; Justin Marks, Andy Lally, TRG; Porsche GT3; 85.
13. (57) GT; Robin Liddell, Andrew Davis, Stevenson Motorsports; Pontiac GXP.R; 84.
14. (31) GT; Dion von Moltke, Hennie Groenewald, Battery Tender/ MCM Racing; Porsche GT3; 84.
15. (40) GT; Joe Foster, Patrick Dempsey, Dempsey Racing; Mazda RX-8; 83.
16. (65) GT; Craig Stanton, John Potter, TRG/Riegel/Stanton; Porsche GT3; 83.
17. (30) GT; Bryce Miller, Dane Cameron, Racers Edge Motorsports; Mazda RX-8; 83.
18. (68) GT; RJ Valentine, Tim George Jr., TRG; Porsche GT3 Cup; 83.
19. (70) GT; Sylvain Tremblay, Nick Ham, SpeedSource; Mazda RX-8; 83.
20. (32) GT; Mike Forest, Lawson Aschenbach, PR1 Motorsports; Pontiac GXP.R; 83.
21. (01) DP; Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas, TELMEX Chip Ganassi with Felix Sabates; Lexus Riley; 82.
22. (43) GT; Wayne Nonnamaker, Joe Nonnamaker, Team Sahlen; Corvette; 82.
23. (42) GT; Joe Sahlen, Will Nonnamaker, Team Sahlen; Corvette; 79.
24. (13) DP; Ricky Taylor, Jared Beyer, Beyer Racing; Pontiac Riley; 79.
25. (07) GT; Paul Edwards, Kelly Collins, Banner Racing; Pontiac GXP.R; 79.
26. (09) DP; Guy Cosmo, Scott Russell, Spirit of Daytona Racing; Porsche Coyote; 78.
27. (69) GT; Emil Assentato, Jeff Segal, SpeedSource; Mazda RX-8; 63.
28. (2) DP; Andy Wallace, Rob Finlay, Childress-Howard Motorsports; Pontiac Crawford; 59.
29. (60) DP; Mark Patterson, Oswaldo Negri Jr., Michael Shank Racing; Ford Riley; 57.
30. (59) DP; JC France, Joao Barbosa, Brumos Porsche; Porsche Riley; 34.
31. (21) GT; Ryan Phinny, Romeo Kapudija, Battery Tender/ MCM Racing; Pontiac GTO.R; 34.
Winner’s average speed: 70.820 mph.
Time of race: 2:45:50.546.
Margin of Victory: 44.752 seconds.
Cautions: 4 for 28 laps.
Lead changes: 8 among 8 drivers.
Lap leaders: Romain Dumas 1, Scott Pruett 2-5, Guy Cosmo 6-9, Scott Pruett 10, Brian Frisselle 11-13, Nic Jonsson 14-35, Timo Bernhard 36-49, Max Angelelli 50-57, Ricardo Zonta 58-87.

Recommended for you

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.