The Avalon Beach Patrol crew of Erich Wolf and Craig Whitehead won the eighth annual Hammer Row on Thursday in 36 minutes, 55 seconds in the Seaview Harbor beach section of Egg Harbor Township. Wolf and Whitehead were second in the race last year.

Chuck Gowdy and Bob Bechtel of Margate Beach Patrol were second in 37 minutes. The crew of Mike McGrath of Longport and Matt Garbutt of Ocean City took third in 37:21.

Mike Manning and Dan Palombo of Upper Township were fourth in 38:10. Fifth was the crew of Sean McCann and John Swift in 38:15.

Paige Funk and Katie Adams of Longport won the women's division. Mark Dileo and Caitlin Lavery of Surf City won the mixed doubles category. Ocean City's Dominic Dougherty and Casey McCallister took the alumni division. Ted Leeds and Colleen Kennedy won the Longport alumni division. Longport is the host patrol.

Sven Peltonen of Brigantine won the stand-up paddleboard division. Brian Pasternak of Ocean City took the prone paddleboard division.

Dan Duffy of Ship Bottom won the surfski division.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.