First team


Joe Rocks, Egg Harbor Township, Sr. (31-4)

Latest Video

Ended his high school career by qualifying for states for the first time with a third-place finish in Region 8. Lost two triple-overtime rideouts to Holy Spirit’s Pat D’Arcy before beating D’Arcy in region consolations.

Pat D’Arcy, Holy Spirit, Fr. (35-3)

Stormed onto the scene this season, winning the first 30 matches of his career while picking up Marinelli and District 32 titles. Beat EHT’s Rocks twice in overtime before falling in the Region 8 consolations.


Tom Gattinella, St. Augustine Prep, Jr. (33-6)

Won his second District 32 title and qualified for states for the second time with a second-place finish in Region 8.


Billy Ward, Buena Regional, Jr. (36-5)

Won his third District 32 and Region 8 titles in as many years and came just one win short of placing at states. Eclipsed the 100-win plateau in his junior season.


Will Elliott, Cumberland Regional, Sr. (30-5)

Became the school’s all-time wins leader and the first to win 100 matches during the state individual tournament. Elliott won his second District 31 title and finished second in Region 8 to qualify for states.


Jason Cohen, Egg Harbor Township, Sr. (28-7)

Wrestled back to finish third in District 32 and again in Region 8 to qualify for states. Beat Absegami’s John Willette for third at regions, avenging a loss from the District 32 tournament semifinals.

John Willette, Absegami, Jr. (23-15)

Willette won the District 32 title and came within one win of qualifying for states, losing to Cohen in Region 8 consolations. Willette beat Cohen at districts.


Joe Esposito, St. Augustine Prep, Sr. (38-6)

Bounced back from a loss in the District 32 final to win his first Region 8 title before finishing seventh in the state. A four-time state qualifier, Esposito finished his career as the school’s all-time leader in wins with 134.


Antonio Mancella, Oakcrest, Sr. (34-4)

Won his 100th match in grand fashion with a major decision in the District 32 finals. He reached states a second time with a second-place finish in Region 8.


Steve Johns, Southern Regional, Sr. (31-10)

Won the District 24 title and qualified for states with a third-place finish in the Region 8 tournament.


Phil Bakuckas, Hammonton, Sr.,

The Press Wrestler of the Year, who posted a 41-1 record this season, will take his school-record 132 career wins with him to Rutgers University next season. Won the District 30 and Region 8 tournaments before finishing second in the state, becoming the first Hammonton wrestler to reach a state final.


Alex Gong, Absegami, Sr. (33-7)

Became a two-time state qualifier with a second-place finish in the Region 8 tournament. Also won his second District 32 title.


David Williams, Hammonton, Jr. (36-5)

Won his second District 30 and first Region 8 title to qualify for states for the first time.


Cory Damiana, Lower Cape May Regional, So. (30-8)

Won 30 matches in a weight class dominated by upperclassmen. Damiana won his first District 32 title and qualified for states with a second-place finish in Region 8.


Lex Knapp, Lacey Township, Sr. (42-1)

Knapp set a school record for wins in a season with 42 and nearly became the second state champ in school history, losing in the state final. Won his second District 24 title and his first Region 8 crown, where he was named Most Outstanding Wrestler. Rutgers, Rider and the Virginia are among the schools interested in Knapp.


Dom LaFragola, Holy Spirit, Sr. (31-3)

Won the District 32 title but suffered a knee injury that forced him to withdraw from regions. Won the Marinelli Tournament. Will play football at the University at Albany next fall.

Second team

106: Steven Bergamo, St. Augustine Prep, Fr./Sal Marandino, Buena Reg., Jr.

113: Zach Valcarce, Lower Cape May, Jr.

120: Gabe Zamot, Egg Harbor Township, Sr.

126: Mike Jiampetti, Absegami, Sr.

132: Joe Rodano, Pinelands Regional, Jr.

138: Dillan Berghof, Buena Regional, Jr.

145: Chris Serpico, Southern Regional, Jr.

152: Mark Patterson, St. Augustine Prep, Sr.

160: Tyler Sentman, St. Augustine Prep, Jr.

170: Steffen Rodriguez, Vineland, Jr.

182: Steve Hodgson, Southern Regional, Sr.

195: Matt Schofield, Barnegat, Sr.

220: Roy Lucas, St. Joseph, Jr.

285: Mike Ottaviano, Absegami, Sr.

Honorable mention


Brandon Goldberg

Nate Ross

Atlantic City

Cesar Balmaceda


Ryan Kirk

Greg Moran

Buena Regional

Justin Pierotti

Noah Repko

Cedar Creek

Eric Hanusewicz

Egg Harbor Township

Brandon Bower

Shawn Bryant

Nigel Toussaint

Middle Township

Brandon Belger

Ronray Harris

Joe Johnston

James Mooers


John Benard

Kevin McGloin


Stephen Andrescavage

Brian Beebe

Robert Frederico

Kellen Whitney

Holy Spirit

C.J. LaFragola

Garrett Paolone

Lacey Township

Kevin Enright

Danny Moore

Lower Cape May

James Hall

Mainland Regional

Michael Anderson

Eric Lands


Ed Shockley

Ocean City

Cooper Gallagher

Josh Johnson

Pinelands Regional

Abdullah Abdelaziz

St. Augustine Prep

James Bennett

Ed Donahue

Jared Hodges

Southern Regional

Jake Campana

Josh Ghigliotty

Nick Hem

Matt Wilhelm

Zach Wilhelm


Taiwahn Cosby

Zach Nealis

Josh Pineda

Johnathon Rodriguez


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.