Holy Spirit High School beat Bishop Eustace 48-12 on Monday in the first round of the South Jersey Non-Public B wrestling tournament.

The third-seeded Spartans will wrestle at second-seeded Holy Cross on Wednesday at 7 p.m. in the semifinals. Eustace was seeded sixth.

Monday’s match was easily one of the fastest in the state this year as the teams contested just three weight classes — all ending in pins — and wrestled for a combined four minutes and 55 seconds.

Latest Video

Eustace had skin issues and had just three wrestlers available. The match started at 126 pounds and the Crusaders actually jumped out to a 12-0 lead after two weights.

But Spirit won the last 12 bouts in a row to end the match.

Brandon Bower and Ed Sooy picked up back-to-back pins as the Spartans won two of the three bouts contested.

“We take a lot of pride in that,” Ray Ellis said. “We know we’re good even if we don’t have the numbers to compete with other teams. Our individuals are very good.”

The Spartans improved to 4-20 this season but won a home playoff match for the second straight season.

Spirit debuted new singlets for Monday’s match, designed by late assistant coach Jun Glover. Glover, who was a beloved youth coach and assistant at Spirit, died unexpectedly on April 1, 2012, one day before his 32nd birthday.

“The win tonight was a little more special because it was dedicated to coach Jun,” Spirit sophomore Pat D’Arcy said. “It made the win a little more special.”

Spirit presented Jun’s oldest son, Syhee, with a singlet designed by his father.

D’Arcy and Ellis each won by forfeit.

D’Arcy is now 27-3. Ellis improved to 23-6 and has won 16 of his last 17 matches.

106—Pat D’Arcy HS by forfeit; 113—Eric Owiklinski HS by forfeit; 120—double forfeit; *126—Michael Lenihan BE p. Ryan Hoke :48; 132—Lenny Hunter BE by forfeit; 138—double forfeit; 145—Brandon Bower HS p. Joshua Grey 1:48; 152—Ed Sooy HS p. Vince Manzo 2:19; 160—Joe DiBuonaventura HS by forfeit; 170—Shawn Garry HS by forfeit; 182—double forfeit; 195—double forfeit; 220—Matt Hoke HS by forfeit; 285—Ray Ellis HS by forfeit.

Records—Bishop Eustace 2-22; Holy Spirit 4-20.

Contact John O’Kane:


(4) St. Joseph 39,

(5) Gloucester Catholic 32

106—Eric Fallon SJ p Mina Awad 1:06; 113—Colin Ward GC won by forfeit; 120—Chris Rehrid GC won by foffeit; *126—Tom Suski SJ d Frank Romeo 11-10; 132—Zach Cummer GC d Al Barbone 6-3; 138—Pat Rafferty GC p Nick Santore 2:48; 145—Doug Kramer SJ d Matt Davis 9-4; 152—Mark Bederadinis GC tf Logan Laughlin 18-3; 160—Jesse Hutwagner SJ won by forfeit; 170—Hayden Stojanov SJ won by forfeit; 182—Christian Lafragola SJ p Dan Koenler 5:05; 195—Silvio Maione SJ d Anthony Antonini 1-0; 220—Gabriel Alessi GC won by forfeit; 285—Roy Lucas SJ won by forfeit.

Record—St. Joseph 4-23.

Of note—St. Joseph will travel to top-seeded Camden Catholic on Wednesday for a South Jersey Non-Public B semifinal meet.

S.J. Group IV

(4) Toms River North 34,

(5) Millville 21

106—Walter Orellana TRN d. Josh Forand 9-2; 113—Vinny Fichera TRN d. Joham Garcia 9-4; 120—Ricardo Diaz TRN sv. Zach Goranson 3-1; 126—Ryan O’Donnell TRN md. Joe Heaton 13-4; 132—Ryan Davis TRN p. Chad Kahn :21; 138—Keith Mahoney M d. Kyle Lewis 10-6; 145—Rico Rivera M d. Nicholas Tardibuono 6-0; 152—Dylan SaSilva TRN won by forfeit; 160—Sean Platt M md. Angel Orellana 14-0; 170—Tyler MacLaine TRN p. Jose Soto 5:36; 182—Javier Rivera-Colon M d. Jose Romero 11-6; 195—Ed Shockley M d. David Mitchell 7-3; 220—Obie Kali M p. Andrew Espinosa 5:00; 285—Alex Sherrer TRN d. Fred DeMary 3-1.

Records—Millville 17-4.

S.J. Group III

(6) Hammonton 41,

(3) Moorestown 15

106—Royce Butler H p. Eric Smith 1:21; *113—Timothy McFerren H won by forfeit; 120—Zach Nice M d. Scott Figueroa 4-2; 126—Austin Figueroa H p. Shayan Bhutta 5:52; 132—Joseph Inglis M d. Lee Struble 6-2; 138—Matt Bumbera H d. James Macrea 3-0; 145—Walter Fox M d. Logan Fiorentino 4-1; 152—Anthony Williamson M d. Nico Porretta 6-3; 160—Brian Siligato H p. Steve Frank :25; 170—Kellen Whitney H md. Spiro Martianou 12-4; 182—Jack Hartman H d. Marvin McKinney 7-4; 195—David Williams H md. Tyreek Smith 13-4; 220—Brandon Beebe H d. Eli Etienne 5-0; 285—James Dever M d. Robert Frederico 6-1.

Record—Hammonton 16-7.

(4) Cherry Hill West 30,

(5) Lacey Township 29

106—Nick Mohrfeld CHW tf. Anthony Datello 15-0 (5:04); 113—Benjamin Mrozinski LT md. John Gibson 17-3; 120—Connor Garrity LT d. Dylan Segrest 6-0; 126—Matt Howe CHW d. Kyle Brandt 4-1; 132—Nick Vecci LT sv. Tyler Brake 14-12; 138—Andrew Garrity LT md. Connor Rogovich 12-3; 145—Mark Papaneri CHW d. Steve Knapp 11-4; 152—Matt Opacity LT d. Wallace Rorke 8-3; 160—Mike Marini CHW p. Cody Alvarez 2:47; 170—Tucker Patten CHW md. David Paprota 14-3; 182—Luke Fernandez LT p. James 2:57; 195—David Rosica CHW won by forfeit; 220—Patrick Schinder LT p. Devin Steele 4:24; 285—Jose Valentin CHW d. Ray DiBenedetto 1-0.

Record—Lacey 8-15.

S.J. Group II

(4) Barnegat 31,

(5) West Deptford 30

106—Griffin Bonner WD d. Jeff DeLuise 6-1; 113—Nick Fogarty B d. Dustin Zuzulock 4-3; 120—Tyler Kaminski WD p. Christian Cammorota 0:48; 126—Walter Vickery WD d. Devin Durante 13-10; 132—Joe Mandara B tf. Paz Gismondi 17-2; 138—Jarryd Ley WD d. Ed Santolla 8-2; 145—Cameron Shields WD d. Zach Massa 5-1; 152—Chris Stoma B p. Nick Horn 2:30; 160—Ryan Kirk B tf. Derrick Davenport 16-1; 170—Hunter Holmstrom WD d. Kevin Hoffman 3-1; 182—Greg Schmalz B won by disqualification over Carl Young 5:49; *195—Rory Bonner WD p. Max Lombardo 2:27; 220—Mark Fischer WD d. Matt Frigon 8-3; 285—Zach Andrews B by forfeit. Records: Barneegat 15-10-1; W. Deptford 12-10

Note: Barnegat faces top-seeded Delsea Regional on Wednesday.

Regular season

Lower Cape May Regional 32,

Vineland 30

106—Joshua Pineda V md. Eric Pruszinski 8-0; 113—Steven Bergamo V md. Zach Hicks 10-1; 120—Zach Valcarce LCM d. Daniel DeTetta 6-5; 126—Zachary Nealis V md. Adam Cabrera 9-0; 132—Noah Gomersall LCM d. John Rizzo 5-0; 138—Tayron Davis V d. Michael Harkin 9-4; 145—Ty Alteri LCM tf. Christian Acosta 18-3 (4:32); 152—Jackson Sole LCM p. Eric Gonzalex :21; 160—Jose Jimenez V d. John Campbell 8-4; 170—Steffen Rodriguez V won by forfeit; 182—Frank Zeigler LCM d. Tiawahn Cosby 6-4; 195—Cory Damiana LCM p. Jose Matteo :51; 220—Benjamin Henderson V won by forfeit; 285—Doug Flitcroft LCM p. Makai Ausby :58.

Records—LCM 10-14; Vineland 15-9.

Rancocas Valley 41,

Mainland Regional 27

106—Blake Rogers RV d. Justin Bishop 8-3; 113—Matt Cole RV p. John Davidson 1:36; 120—John DiNofrio MR p. Anthony Pingelli 3:58; 126—Pedro Hernandez RV p. Ryan Hodgon 1:00; 132—Justin Walsh MR d. Trevino Daniel 13-7; 138—Garrett Ewing MR d. Oswaldo Delgado 5-2; 145—Shane Pastore RV tf. Austin Amato 3:07, 17-0; 152—John Fitzpatrick MR p. Brett Perks 1:11; 160—Kevin Hall RV d. Colin O’Hara 4-1; 170—Timothy Lenzsch MR d. Robert Rein 5-3; 182—Kolin Roberts MR p. David Dupont 1:01; 195—Ryan Weaver RV p. Mike Kennedy :50; 220—Kenny Wright RV p. David Evans 2:26; 285—Austin Fairchild RV won by forfeit.

Record—Mainland 8-19.

*-Match started at this weight

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.