FOLSOM — Forty-three students from five South Jersey counties will meet at Folsom Elementary School on Saturday for the South Jersey Regional Spelling Bee. The winner will head to Maryland to compete in the 91st Scripps National Spelling Bee this spring.

The students come from Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester and Salem counties for the regional competition. Last year’s winner, Alexandria Ciurlino, of St. Vincent de Paul School in Mays Landing, will compete again this year. She is in eighth grade.

This is Folsom’s third year hosting the regional bee. It was previously held in Galloway Township, according to event organizer Tiffany Hathaway, a teacher in Folsom.

The Scripps National Spelling Bee takes place May 27 through June 1 at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in Oxon Hill, Maryland, and is televised nationally. Only one winner has ever come from New Jersey, according to the organization.

See a list of the participants with this story at

{span class=”print_trim” style=”text-decoration: underline;”}South Jersey Regional Spelling Bee contestants

Alder Avenue Middle School — Ranajoy Gupta

Alloway Township School — Samantha Williams

Arthur Rann Elementary School — Amari Pinkett

Atlantic Christian School — Gabriella Goodwin

Avalon Elementary School — Jakob Pender

Champion Baptist Academy — Magdalena Breedlove

Clearview Regional Middle School — Thomas Caprio

Dane Barse Elementary School — Taylor Bushman

Dawes Avenue Elementary School — Robert Wilkinson

Dennis Township Schools — Holly McGurk

Dr. Joyanne D. Miller Elementary School — Raegan Simon

Dr. William Mennies Elementary School — Ecenur Kayis

Emma C Attales School — Andrew Koch

Estell Manor Elementary School — Faith Corbett

Fernwood Avenue Middle School — Kerrissa Arjoon

Folsom Elementary School — Adam Wahid

Galloway Township Middle School — Emily Chau

George L. Hess Educational Complex — Mariam Gaminde

Glenwood Avenue Elementary School — Mykah Umipeg

Gloucester County Christian Home Schoolers — Autumn Taylor

Hammonton Middle School — Joseph Linneman

John H. Winslow Elementary School — Gavin Smith

Johnstone Elementary School — Shiloh Whittaker

Jordan Road Elementary School — Sununda Biswas

Margaret Mace Elementary School — Lily O’Donnell

Max Leuchter Elementary School — Melina Cortes

Middle Township Elementary #4 — Taylor McNeal

Mullica Township Middle School — Hannah Recine

Northfield Community Middle School — Sada Spooner

Pauline J. Petway Elementary School — Noah Sarnoff

Pleasantville Middle School — Maa-Abena Gyening

Quinton Township School — District Lorren Richards

Reeds Road Elementary School — Janvi Patel

Roland Rogers Elementary School — Paarth Verma

Sandman Consolidated School — Kaitlyn McGuigan

Smithville Elementary School — Joseph Dellanoce

Sovereign Avenue School — Lisa Tran

St. Vincent De Paul — Alexandria Ciurlino

Ventnor Middle School — Cooper Kane

West Cape May Elementary School — Kyra Ridgway

Weymouth Township Elementary School — Olivia Wood

Wildwood Middle School — Dominic Thomas

William Davies Middle School — Kaavya Kolli{/span}

Contact: 609-272-7251

Twitter @clairelowe

I began covering South Jersey in 2008 after graduating from Rowan University with a degree in journalism. I joined The Press in 2015. In 2013, I was awarded a NJPA award for feature writing as a reporter for The Current of Hamilton Township.