VENTNOR — The three candidates who campaigned as a team swept the City Commission election Tuesday, each winning four-year terms for the Imagine Ventnor slate.

Beth Maccagnano Holtzman, Tim Kriebel and Lance Landgraf took the most votes, in that order.

Their better-funded slate defeated Michael Advena, a marina owner, and Cassandra Shober, who manages a law office. Those two ran independently.

The winners said they expect Holtzman to be the new mayor.

“I'm overwhelmed and humbled,” she said at a victory party on her 54th birthday. She said her father, Paul Maccagnano, was elected to the Ventnor Commission 28 years ago, also on her birthday.

“It’s a great birthday gift,” she said. “Getting in with my whole team was more important than just winning.”

Holtzman took 1,265 votes, Kriebel 1,195 and Landgraf 1,147, according to unofficial results with 100 percent of the machine votes counted.

Advena got 555 and Shober took 455.

“We look forward to getting all the people of the city together and working together for a better Ventnor,” Landgraf said.

Holtzman, who lives on the Ventnor Heights block where she grew up, is a financial officer in the Atlantic County government.

Landgraf is planning director for the Casino Reinvestment Development Authority, based in neighboring Atlantic City. He lives close to the center of Ventnor, not far from City Hall.

Kriebel is a professional designer who says he specializes in residential kitchens. He also lives near City Hall.

Imagine Ventnor had by far the best-funded campaign, raising a total of about $32,400. That was more than double what the two candidates who ran on their own collected between them.

Shober’s campaign took in a bit less than $8,100, and Advena raised almost $7,000 for his campaign, all according to reports filed with the state’s Election Law Enforcement Commission.

The winners had slightly more votes than those in the last election.

In May 2012, current Mayor Mike Bagnell led all candidates with 1,213 votes, and Commissioner Frank Sarno came in second with 1,175. Commissioner Theresa Kelly got the last seat with 1,164 votes, which turned out to be a one-vote victory in a count that wasn’t officially certified until after a court challenge that lasted into September of that year.

None of the three incumbents ran for re-election.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

PLEASE BE ADVISED: Soon we will no longer integrate with Facebook for story comments. The commenting option is not going away, however, readers will need to register for a FREE site account to continue sharing their thoughts and feedback on stories. If you already have an account (i.e. current subscribers, posting in obituary guestbooks, for submitting community events), you may use that login, otherwise, you will be prompted to create a new account.

Load comments